Restrict who can read your blog

This article explains some of the problems with limiting the readers of your blogspot blog to only the people you choose, and why you may seem to have unexpected readers.



When you create a blog for the first time in Blogger, anyone in the world can read it (if they can find it – how to get there is a different story!).

But some people want to keep their blog private, just for them and their friends (or teachers, students, other parents, classmates, etc.). This is fine, as long as he does not mind that only up to 100 people – always – can be invited to read the blog, and that he does not have a RSS feeds so he can’t offer email subscriptions.

How to prevent everyone from reading your blog

In the Settings > Basic: Permissions tab, there is an area where Blogger allows you to limit the readers of your blog to anyone, selected people, or authors only.

If you click the Edit link in this section, you can choose one of:

  • Private – Blog authors only
  • Private – Only these readers

If you choose the first option, then In the first option, only the authors of the blog can read your blog. Other verified visitors will receive a message that this is a private blog, and will not be able to read any posts.
If you choose the second option, you need to click + Add readers link and enter the email addresses of the people you want to allow to read the blog. Any email address you enter will receive a message like this:

“Good morning,

The purpose of this message is to inform you that YourName has invited you to join his private blog “yourBlogName”. To accept this invitation, click on the button below.

<>

Important: You need to sign in with a Google Account to accept the invitation to view this blog. If you don’t have a Google account, you can create one here.

happy blogging,

The Blogger Team

The email address you invited vs. the email address that accepted

When someone clicks on the button in the invitation email, then they are asked to confirm that they are currently logged-in Google account is to be used to sign in your blog, or given the opportunity to sign up for a Google account if they don’t already have one.

But note that there is a note that forces the email address associated with that Google account accept your invitation to be the same as you sent the invitation to.

When someone has accepted an invitation, the list of readers only shows you the email of the readers you have: it does not show you the link between them and the person to whom you sent the invitation.

For example, if you sent an email invitation to [email protected],com, but Mary also has a Google account with [email protected] as her email address, she might choose to read your blog with the manager account – and she’ll see you the manager. @google.com in your reader list.

In addition to this, the people you invite can send the invitation-e-mail to other people, and they can also sign up in your blog – luckily these days, each invitation can be used exactly once.

If this happens, the readers are put into a group, and the Permissions tab shows you the email address to which you sent the invitation, and the email of the people who accepted the invitation. And it allows you to remove permissions both from individuals and from the whole group at once.

Guest sign-in

This feature has not been removed – and this makes your blog reading much safer.

Before it was deleted, then the person you invited wanted, they could sign as a guest for a maximum of 30 days. However Google based this sign-in on the IP address they were using at the time, which caused a couple of problems:

  • On a shared computer, then anyone who used that computer could read your blog (if they can find it – for example, by looking in the browser’s history file).
  • If your Internet Service Provider (ISP) used dynamic IP addresses (ie you get a new one every time you connect) then the person who accepted the invitation was only able to read the blog during their current Internet connection . And someone else who receives the same IP address in the next 30 days will be able to read the blog (although it is unlikely that they will be able to find it).

The email is not secure

Having said all of the above – remember that email isn’t really secure unless you’re sure it’s encrypted at each end. Security experts usually recommend treating it like a postcard: assume that your messages can be read, in plain text, by any postcard that passes through hands. Or in computer terms, from any server that passes it on the journey between you and the recipient.

So, if someone really, really wants to read your blog, they will be able to figure out how to “sniff” your email. This is not easy (and anyone who can do it may be able to find easier ways to hack into your blog anyway), but it is possible.

If what is in your blog is really super-sensitive, you need to choose if it is worth taking the risk of using tools like this (and I think it is, in many cases, because the risk is small) , or if you need it. to look for a set of tools that is more secure.


Related articles

Understand Google Accounts

Transferring your blog to a new owner

Email posting – knowing who said what

BB link code (forum):

Leave a Comment